About The Haven of Rest Ministries


Established in 1956 by Don and Wilma Chalfant as "The Haven of Rest Rescue Mission," The Haven originally provided meals, shelter and the gospel message to homeless men. The Haven has expanded to offer many innovative services to the ever changing homeless population, who need help in learning social self-sufficiency and productivity.
The Haven About
O
ur
Story
1956

2024
Beginning as a Men's homeless shelter, the Haven has expanded into 11 seperate Ministries to serve the community
Company Photo
Company Photo
Company Photo
Company Photo

Quick Overview

The Haven has provided emergency food and shelter each night to homeless men on a temporary basis (30-60 days). Pastoral and case management services are available through qualified shelter staff, working in conjunction with local agencies. Referrals are available for clients to receive medical, psychological and legal assistance. Area churches from many denominations provide nightly church services for those wishing to attend.

  • The Haven serves the unsheltered public, specifically men over 18 years old in our Men's Shelter, Families and mothers / fathers with children, Veterans (with a specific Veterans Program), and adult men with disabilities who need an adult foster care.
  • We provide emergency shelter for 30 to 60 days, all daily meals, and daily basic personal care needs. The Haven's case managers provide connection to counseling, substance abuse recovery assistance, support groups, transitional housing, and referrals for medical care, legal assistance, and employment.
  • The Haven serves approximately 245 meals a day to the general public, providing meals on weekends, holidays and other days when the soup kitchen at the Salvation Army is closed.
  • Through our Jail Ministry, the Haven provides comfort and counseling to inmates of the Calhoun County Jail.

2022 By the Numbers

Population Served (1,387)

Population Served 2022

Meals (87,929)

Meals

Bed Nights (37,677)

Bed Nights

Our Staff

Executive Staff

Administrative Staff

Todd Artis

Men's Shelther & Outreach Coordinator
todd.artis@thehavenbc.org
(269) 965-1148, 960

Dorene Alexander

WLRP Case Manager
dorene.alexander@thehavenbc.org
(269) 441-1701

Rodrico Blackman

Men's Shelter Asst. Coordinator & Case Manager
rodrico.blackman@thehavenbc.org
(269) 965-1148, 983

Tom Carpentier

LRP Assistant Coordinator
tom.carpentier@thehavenbc.org

Cindy Carrier

HMIS Agency Administrator
cindy.carrier@thehavenbc.org
(269) 965-1148, 964

Amanda Collins

WLRP Assistant Coordinator
amanda.collins@thehavenbc.org
(269) 441-1701

Tina Crisher

Kitchen Coordinator
tina.crisher@thehavenbc.org
(269) 965-1148, 987

Lisa Foley

Family Division Coordinator
lisa.foley@thehavenbc.org
(269) 965-1148, 968

Brent Folkema

Jail Ministry Chaplain
bfolkema@calhouncountymi.gov
(269) 969-6321

Gloria Givhan

WLRP Coordinator
gloria.givhan@thehavenbc.org
(269) 441-1701

Linda Hardenbrook

Admin Assistant, Volunteer Coordinator
linda.hardenbrook@thehavenbc.org
(269) 965-1148, 984

Mitch Hough

VIP Case Manager/HMIS Agency Admin
mitch.hough@thehavenbc.org
(269) 965-1148, 969

Rebecca Lyles

Inasmuch Case Manager
rebecca.lyles@thehavenbc.org
(269) 965-1148, 970

Charlie-Jo Sauceda

WLRP Case Manager
CharlieJo.Sauceda@TheHavenBC.org
(269) 965-1148

Jamie Schwalm

AFC, VIP Coordinator
jamie.schwalm@thehavenbc.org
(269) 965-1148, 963

LaRhonda Wilson

Inasmuch Case Manager
larhonda.wilson@thehavenbc.org
(269) 965-1148, 971